# RAMAIAH COLLEGE OF LAW THE LITERARY AND DEBATING SOCIETY ANNUAL REPORT

(August 2016 – May 2017)

## RAMAIAH INTER-VARSITY DEBATING TOURNAMENT, 2016

The inception of the Ramaiah IV Debating Tournament 2016 was a culmination of the hard work, dedication and commitment of the Debating Society of RCL along with the faculty and Principal of RCL. The Ramaiah IV was conducted between 21<sup>st</sup> - 23<sup>rd</sup> October 2016. 28 teams from various different institutions had participated in the tournament. The motions ranged from topics such as feminism, black rights, International politics, criminal justice system, religion and so on. The Core Adjudicators were Achitha Jacob, Vanshaj Jain, Anish Ravishankar and Vignesh Ram.



The Winners of the Ramaiah IV Debating Tournament 2016 is Chinmaya Bhargava and Shantanu Bariar from VIT, Vellore and Pushpak Kedia and Parinita Kare from Christ University,

Bangalore were adjudged as Runners-up. The other finalists were Piali Bopanna and Hriday Grandhi from RVCE, Bangalore; and Gaurav Saraf and Animan Thakur from MSRIT.

The Novice Finals Winners for the tournament was the team from RVCE, Bangalore. The other finalists were the team from Jindal Global Law School, Sonipat, School of Law Christ University, Bangalore and M. Visvesvaraya Institute of Technology, Bangalore.

Karthik Bansal, School of Law Christ University, Bangalore bagged the Best Adjudicator and Vignesh Shanmugam from School of Law, Christ University, Bangalore was adjudged as 2<sup>nd</sup> Best Adjudicator.

There was a five-way tie for the Best Speaker and the recipients of the Best Speaker of the tournament include:

- 1. Pushpak Kedia Christ University
- 2. Shantanu Bariar VIT, Vellore
- 3. Piali Bopanna RVCE, Bangalore
- 4. Gaurav Saraf MSRIT, Bangalore
- 5. Animan Thakur MSRIT, Bangalore

### **GAIL DEBATE 2016**

GAIL (India) Limited in association with M. S. Ramaiah College of Law organized its 2<sup>nd</sup> Edition of Debate Competition on occasion of National Vigilance Awareness Week, 2016. The Motion for the debate was "*Corruption Can Be Eradicated Through Public Participation And Not Through Strict Laws*". In the Preliminary Rounds, each speaker was given 5 minutes to speak on both the sides. The preliminary rounds witnessed close to 40 participants out of which 8 Students qualified to the Quarter Finals. In each Advance Rounds, i.e. Quarter Finals, Semi Finals, and Finals, the speaker had to speak for 8 minutes for the allotted side.

The students who qualified for Quarter Finals in the order of the ranking were: *Sonal Priya*, *Vaishakh*, *Vidyashree*, *Natasha*, *Advaith*, *Vignesh*, *Sathvik* and *Mukund Sharma*. The quarter finals were a knock out round and the power match-up was such that after a tough decision 4 best speakers amongst them made it to the Semi Finals and their names are as follows: *Sonal*, *Vaishak*, *Natasha* and *Vignesh*. Out of these four speakers *Vignesh* and *Vaishakh* reached the finals though the other two semi-finalists lost at a very small margin. In the Finals *Vignesh* spoke *for* the motion and *Vaishakh* spoke *against* the motion.

The judges for the Finals were *Dr.A.Nagarathna*, *Professor and Principal*, *M. S. Ramaiah College of Arts*, *Science and Commerce* and *Dr. H. Muralidharan*, *Dean M. S. Ramaiah Institute of Management Studies*. It was the most difficult debate to judge as there was a close call and the judges declared the negative as to be stronger by a margin of just two mark in cumulative.







# **WAVES DEBATE 2016**

**Sathvik Amarnath** of I Year and **Sakshi Singhal**, II Year B.A.LL.B of M.S. Ramaiah College of law have been the Novice Winners of **The Contention** – **The Waves Debate 2016** organized by BITS Pilani, Goa from 4<sup>th</sup> to 6<sup>th</sup> November 2016.



# STUDENTS REPRESENTATION

COMPETITION NAME	PARTICIPANTS	REMARKS
The PES Debate 2016 - Open	Abhinay	Participation
British Parliamentary	Prajwal	
Tournament	Vignesh	
MSRMPD	Niroop	Participation
	Sakshi	
	Thasmitha	
	Sakshi	
	Prajwal	
	Malavika	
	Vignesh	
	Lekha	
	Bharathi	
NALSAR Inter-varsity	Prajwal R. Hallur	Best Adjudicator - Vignesh
Debate Championship	Sakshi Singal	
	Niroop	
	Vaishakh	
	Thasmitha	
	Vignesh	
	Malavika	
School of Communication	Abhinay	Break - Both Speaker and
Manipal University British	Prajwal	Adjudicator - Prajwal & Sathvik
Parliamentary Debate	Maya	and Anannya
	Anannya	
	Aishwarya	
	Sanjeevini	
	Sathvik	
	Sanjay	
	Ronald	
RV Debating Tournament	Ankitha	Break - Bharathi and Lekha
	Mithun	
	Omkar	
	Thasnima	
	Shubam	
	Sakthi Swetha	
	Lekha	
	Bharathi	

The Contention – The Waves Debate 2016 (BITS Pilani, Goa)	Shubhangi Aishwarya Vr Sanjay Sathvik Shubam Niroop Omkar Sakshi Singhal	Novice Winners – Sathvik & Sakshi Singhal
Debate Competition, KSLU Zonal Youth Festival - 2017	Vaishakh Dutta Sathvik Amarnath	First Prize Second Prize
Elocution, KSLU Zonal Youth Festival - 2017	Sakshi Singhal	Second Prize
32 <sup>nd</sup> YMCA Sir. C. V. Raman Memorial Inter Collegiate English Debate	Aishwarya M.R. Keerthana S.	Aishwarya M.R. – Second Prize
NLU Orissa Parliamentary Debate	Vignesh H. Ram	Participation
2 <sup>nd</sup> NMIMS School of Law Parliamentary Debate	Vignesh H. Ram	Core Adjudicator
NITTE Meenakshi Debate Competition	Aishwarya M.R. Aishwarya V.R. Sathvik Amarnath Omkar Prasad Keerthana S Sanjay Suresh Sanjeevini N Sheryl Fathima	Participation
State Level Inter-college English/Kannada Debate Competition	Hitesh Mundhra Gouri K Prithviraj Shastry G Vishwaksen R. Badagandi	Participation
2 <sup>nd</sup> Asian Parliamentary Debate ICFAI Law School Hyderabad	Sathvik Amarnath Vaishakh Dutta Sakshi Singhal Malvika Vignesh H. Ram	<ul> <li>Winners - H. Vignesh Ram, Sakshi Singhal and Sathvik Amarnath</li> <li>Vaishakh Dutta – Best Adjudicator</li> <li>Malvika - Second Best Adjudicator</li> </ul>

Stella Maris College Parliamentary Debate Competition	Prajwal Hallur	Participation
XV Edition NLS Parliamentary Debate Competition	Aishwarya M.R. Aishwarya V.R. Sathvik Amarnath Omkar Prasad Sanjeevini N Sanjay Suresh Sheryl Fathima Manoj Keerthana Ram Ananth Sakshi Singhal Vaishakh Dutta Malvika Abhinay S Vignesh H. Ram	Vignesh H. Ram - Second Best Adjudicator
CMR Asian Parliamentary Debate Competition	Abhinay S Sathvik Amarnath Sakshi Singhal Aishwarya M.R. Omkar Prasad Sanjeevini N Malvika Sanjay Suresh	Aishwarya M.R. – Best Speaker